Chess Arbiters: What should the Arbiter do? Forced moves in Arbiter practice. #fidelawsofchess, #ECU

In a standard game (90 minutes for the first 40 moves followed by 30 minutes for the rest of the game with an addition of 30 seconds per move starting from move one), the following position (diagram 1) occurred in the presence of the arbiter after white’s 46th move.
Position after White’s 46th move:
The player with the black pieces played 46…Rc1+ but his flag fell before he had the chance to stop his time. The player with the white pieces immediately called the arbiter and claimed a win. What should the Arbiter’s decision be?
Chessbase:
ECU e-magazine:
Lectures and Topics for Chess Arbiters. International Arbiter – Prodromos Gerontopoulos. ​.

8 Comments

  1. win because rc1 isn't a move as the move is only made after pressing the glock. If he made that move then captured and lost on time, then a draw

  2. In such situations I'll defiantly call the chief arbiter! :p

  3. Paule - Professional bet instructions says:

    Absolutely silly. Who cares, wether or not the moves are going to be forced? If the rules would say so, then you have to rephrase them. They did not know when writing this down what they did that there was ever going to happen a situation like the one above. Not the only situation to prove, that it is impossible to write down rules that leave no doubt about the decisions to make or to come. Every situation is individual and is special and requires decent thought and human treatment. No idea, which thought may have caused Black to play the rubbish move Rc1+, even worse after 30 seconds of thought. He may have WANTED the game to end in a draw. Any club player knowing the rules and with the wich to win this game would instantly pick up the White and receive a handshake from an evenly understanding player. So go ahead: claim the game a draw, according to the "rules" — which are not just in this case silly, not covering all the possibilities. The more you try, the more you will fail. Use your intuition to make decent decisions. Black lost if he did not complete his move. Simple as that — nothing to argue. By the way: is there a written rule, that the arbiter needs to be a decent chess player, being able to distinguish between good and bad moves or even being able to calculate forced sequences? If you are into problem chess, then they would easily show you a position, where even Carlsen would fail to find the solution. It is mad stuff.

  4. … and BTW the pawn in a2 is not relevant for the proposed case

  5. Hey! I have a question for experienced chess arbiter:

    Standard game, player 1 already made one incorrect move. Then, few moves later he does something from below list:
    – push pawn to the last line, do not change it on any other piece and press the clock,
    – makes move with both hands,
    – presses the clock without making any move

    Does any of that 3 examples count as incorrect move and after doing one of that player 1 loses the game?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *